top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily

We all start somewhere

Updated: Oct 9, 2018

This time last year I was diving into my first interior design project. I had decided on a whim to try out a class to see if I liked it, and I fell in love! Funny how that works! When I decided to go back to school, if someone had told me I was going to end up going for interior design I would never have believed them. I encourage everyone to try something new if it sounds fun or interesting. You never know what may happen. You could very well end up like me, finding your passion and started a journey towards a new and exciting career.



The first class I took was Visual Presentation. This class is a great introduction into what it is an interior designer does. We worked on hand drafting and sketching, space planning, and furniture selection, and our final project was a living room we created using SketchUp, Podium and Photoshop. I was hooked!






After we had finished our final rendering, we put together our presentation boards. It was so fun to see what everyone had put together. We had the freedom to choose whatever style we wanted and everyone's was so different. I went with a downtown Seattle loft. I was feeling rather homesick at the time and this project helped me feel like I was back in Seattle, curled up on the coach, sipping on my Starbucks, listening to the rain patter on the window. (If you want to play a game of I-Spy, try finding the Starbucks cup☕️, The Harry Potter books⚡️, and the board game Battleship🚢 )



Looking back after taking classes on the principles and elements of design and studying color theory, there are some changes I would make, but I am proud of this project, especially since it is the first step on my new adventure.


Until next time,

Cheers!

-Emily



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page